Rust on wheat crops

An EFAO member called the office last week to see if staff could recommend someone who might have some insight to the causes and solutions for rust on wheat? Apparently this has become an issue for organic growers in Southwestern Ontario. Any information or contact info for someone who might be able to help out would be greatly appreciated!

I’ve never tried to control it before as I never grew wheat on a very large scale. It’s so weather dependent since Wheat Rust is fungal in nature, so wet and warm weather will help it establish, and wind will help it proliferate (through airborne spores) across the field. The only thing I can suggest is to make sure to use rust-resistant varieties of wheat, and maybe make sure you have a good windbreak to limit the spread. Apart from that, I’m not sure if there is an organic-approved fungicide that could be applied, if you would even want to do that in the first place (because who wants to revert to using fungicides in ecological farming, certified or otherwise?!), but that could be worth looking into.

OMAFRA has a bit of info on this as well:

http://www.omafra.gov.on.ca/english/crops/pub811/14cereal.htm

There’s some research to suggest that adequate levels of copper and plant-available silicon in the soil can help prevent fungal diseases like rust in cereal crops. As Denis pointed out, there’s a genetic component to resistance too. Remember that rust will impact the photosynthetic capacity of the plant, limiting growth and yield, but it won’t have a direct impact on grain quality (unlike fusarium).

One potential solution is a copper sulfate spray, but it is much more effective as a preventative or early treatment option. Copper sulfate is pretty acidic, so it will burn leaves, especially in warmer weather. The usual recommendation is to apply it as “Bordeaux mixture”, which reduces (but doesn’t eliminate) the phyto-toxicity. Here are details from OMAFRA (for apple orchards):