Cultivating/replanting a hay field and growing barley organically

Hi all, I am a newbie farmer, have a 100 acre farm which is being farmed by a local tenant, all conventional methods. I am interested in converting the whole operation to organic, am starting with 2 handy 5 acre fields which are separate from the rest. One is a hay field which is a mixture of a bunch of different grasses, maybe some alfalfa thrown in, hasn’t had anything sprayed on it for 20 years or so. The local conventional farmers tell me I wouldn’t be able to grow anything on it even if I plowed and cultivated it, the grass will keep coming back. They recommend spraying it with Roundup first and killing the grass, then going at it. Doing that would defeat my purpose somewhat and would also set the clock back as far as organic certification goes. Wondering if anyone has a better suggestion.
2nd issue, I want to try to grow some malting barley. Am told I will need to use a fungicide… I don’t believe there are any organic options, maybe I’m wrong. Any tips on growing barley organically? I have 2 fields at my disposal, one was in wheat last year, the other the aforementioned hay field. I’ve just read that it is best to not plant barley in a field that had small grain in it previously due to the common diseases, wondering if that might have been mitigated by the fact that last years crop was sprayed etc.
Any and all advice would be appreciated.

If I remember correctly, copper sulfate, a fungicide, can be used under organic certification. However, I don’t know how well that would work on barley as I have never done it myself. And yes, if you follow up wheat with barley you run the risk of passing on things like leaf rust (which is fungal). The spray may have worked for the previous crop, but its effects won’t last forever and I don’t believe that spraying it will kill fungal spores. just the fungus itself.